blessednbabbling











{June 23, 2011}   Coontastic is what I am

“you listen to a lot of coon tunes Ash”

A tweet to me from a friend the other day after my excitement about Jeezy doing a video for his song “Ballin’ “ off his new mixtape. I love that song but I had already dreamt what the “Broads” video would be like.

That tweet got me thinking though…do I really listen to that much coon music aka music that’s out of my character? Yes, I do and I love it.

I actually sat down and did an inventory of sorts of all the “Ashley I can’t believe you of all people listen to/like that song” songs I have in my music library.

These songs include but aren’t limited to:

–        Gucci’s So Icy

–       Memphis Bleek’s Round Here

–       8Ball and MJG’s Comin’ Out Hard (yes, the whole album)

–       Master P’s Bourbons and ‘Lacs

–       Gorilla Zoe’s Lost

–       Ruff Ryders’ Down Bottom

–       Big Tymers’s Oh Yeah

–      DRS’s Gangsta Lean

–       The Luniz’s I Got Five On It

–       Drunken Master’s 50 Niggas Deep (and I know quite a few niggas who this song applies to)

–       Tela’s Sho’ Nuff

–       The Game’s One Blood

–       Do or Die’s Po Pimp

–       Pastor Troy’s Dope Boy

–       Boyz in Da Hood’s Dem Boyz

–       Jim Jones’s Don’t Push Me Away

–       Rick Ross’s Blow

–       Cam’ Ron and Kanye’s Down and Out

–       Countless T.I. songs (I swear TI mentions my friend’s name in You Don’t Know Me)

–       Countless Jeezy songs

 

I also love the songs where there’s like a thousand rappers on it. Besides the beat, which I love, I enjoy hearing the different styles of these rappers come together over one beat. It’s nice to hear a New York rapper followed by one from the deep south and then one from some other state

Some of my favorite collaborations are

-the remix to TI’s Top Back (Jeezy’s verse on that is my favorite)

-the original and remix to DJ Khaled’s I’m So Hood (these two exemplify what I mean about the different styles coming together)

– the remix to Jim Jones’s We Fly High (the order in which they rap was best, in my opinion)

With all of these songs one would wonder how Luda, a rapper who some people deem “soft”, holds the number one spot (pun intended). It’s his vocal dynamism that I love so, that’s what keeps him at numb. one.

This all started when I used to ride with my brother to school. He was always playing the whole Coming Out Hard album and I grew to love it. It’s actually my favorite non-Luda rap album. This is also when I heard and loved Master P’s Ghetto D and Juvenile’s 400 Degreez. He also played for me Lil Wayne’s I Feel Like Dying and that is one of my favorite Weezy songs.

My love for songs of this nature escalated when I went to GSW. This is where I met most of my weed head/alcoholic friends.

If you know me more than likely you’re aware of my sheltered upbringing. I was raised in the church and we all know the stereotypes associated with women raised in the church. You’re probably also aware of how most of the people I associate with smoke weed and are forever getting drunk. So to hear that I love these songs is surprising to some people.

I’m attracted to what I like to call the “educated thug”. In the words of Kelly Rowland “a rude boy that’s good to me with street creditability”.  Weed heads and alchys fascinate me on some odd and probably weird level that I can’t explain.

Most of the time when I listen to “coontastic” songs I don’t exactly understand the metaphors in them. I don’t always ask, mainly because it doesn’t matter, but I know that I can go to my friends and they’ll explain a lyric to me. I remember when I first learned what Camillionaire meant by “Ridin’ Dirty”. I laughed b/c I was told “you do it all the time”.

However, when I do understand a metaphor on my own a big smile forms on my face.

This was my attempt to explain my random tweets of rap lyrics from such songs. To really know me is to fully understand my love for these songs.

Most of the songs listed fall under the “So bad, it’s good” category. Nothing wrong with that!



thanks for the comment. and yes, these songs are just that “so bad, it’s so good”. I love that they’re out of the norm for me.



Leave a Reply

et cetera
